“Neither snow nor rain”

On July 26, 1775, the Second American Continental Congress appointed Benjamin Franklin as Postmaster General to organize and run the Post Office Department – the predecessor of the United States Postal Service (USPS).

The USPS has a reputation for always completing deliveries on time. Its unofficial motto comes from an inscription on the James Farley Post Office in New York City, which reads: “Neither snow nor rain nor heat nor gloom of night stays these couriers from the swift completion of their appointed rounds.”

In fact, postmaster was considered to be such an honorable title that two postmasters went on to become President of the United States: Abraham Lincoln and Harry Truman.